Posted by: Sarah S | December 4, 2009

Blogblogblog

Today was supposed to be the day of my last surfing class or hiking to Cristo, but then I woke up to the sound of rain – of course, Rio, thanks a lot. So instead of doing any of those exciting things, I thought I’d blog some more (2 days in a row?!).

A while ago I promised several Michelles that I would post my stalker pictures from Niterói of tiny Brazilian bathing suits, so here they are (tiny bottom, tiny top, & sunga/guys’ suit):

It’s a little hard to see, but there’s definite beer drinking in the second and third pictures – gotta love Brazilian beaches. I’m pretty desensitized, so hopefully these don’t look too scandalous to normal Americans. While I would never actually wear a fio dental, seeing other people in them doesn’t seem strange at all anymore – I think it’s going to be weirder back at home where everyone’s entire bunda/butt is completely covered (and I have my biquini that I almost wouldn’t wear out of the house a few months ago). Also, I was having a conversation about bathing suits with Brazilians the other day and they were surprised to hear that it’s not at all typical for guys to wear sungas in the US, which I found very amusing.

And now for some other Rio/Brazil-related blogs. First there’s Rio etc, which I look at more often than in deserves since it’s mostly just trying to be the Sartorialist with worse pictures of less stylish people. But then every now and then there’s something that resonates, like this – it seriously looks like that with futebols flying everywhere as far as you can see. Or the matte guy at the beach. Or the really typical-looking students at PUC. Or the Xina stand outside PUC with that sells enormous salgados. So anyway, that’s a little look inside my Rio bubble.

Then if you look at Roda Magazine, you’ll find part of my post from yesterday! I don’t know if that counts as being published or what, but I thought it was cool.

Finally, quick life update: two exams down, a paper and a design project to go. I went to see a Brazilian movie in theaters (aka without subtitles) as my rainy day activity today, which I understood but still missed things in. We made an amazing salad for dinner (I’ve been vegetable-deprived recently) and now love raw beets. Brown-in-Brazil is taking us to Ilha Grande early tomorrow morning, where it hopefully won’t rain all weekend. And then just a week and a half left in Rio! That’s enough time to be ready to leave, right??


Responses

  1. oh my! the beach pictures are not at all modest. for our thanksgiving dinner we had [canned] beets. never came face to face with a beet in my life before- hey, it didn’t smell horrible (not daring enough to taste)


Leave a comment

Categories